Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting

                                           20 May 2021

At the end of Iceland´s 2-year Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, the Foreign Ministers of the Arctic countries and the heads of the Arctic Indigenous organizations gathered in Reykjavik for the Ministerial Meeting on 20 May 2021. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Council and the successful and constructive cooperation regarding environmental protection and sustainable development of the region. A documentary on the history of the Council was published on the Arctic Council Vimeo channel.

Germany belongs to the first four states that were included in the Council as observers and actively contributes to the activities of the Council with scientific expertise. In a video message Foreign Minister Maas underlined the German commitment to contributing to the protection of the Arctic. In this context, also the important contributions of the German Arctic Office and the role of the Arctic Dialogue were pointed out.

A joint ministerial declaration („Reykjavik Declaration“) and a 10-year Strategic Plan, guiding the future work of the Council, were adopted.

The meeting concluded with the handover of the Chairmanship to the Russian Federation.