Office for information and cooperation in the Arctic

The German Arctic Office at the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research serves as an information and cooperation platform for German stakeholders invested in Arctic science, politics and industry. It enhances the visibility of Germany‘s engagement in the Arctic on a national and international level.

The German Arctic Office serves as a central point of contact for political and scientific bodies, NGO‘s and German industry; advises the Federal Government on Arctic issues through statements and briefings based on the most current state of research, and; fosters Germany‘s participation in the Arctic Council‘s scientific activities.

The German Arctic Office provides scientific organizations with background information on current policy relevant developments in the Arctic Region, and; informs German stakeholders from science, politics and industry with consitent information from the global Arctic research community.

The German Arctic Office initiates and organizes national Arctic meetings and events in cooperation with partners from science, politics and industry, and; supports the federal government in the representation of German Arctic research and policy at international conferences.

"Arctic Strategies 2017" offers an overview and an introduction to the Arctic strategies of the member and observer states of the Arctic Council. This introduction was commissioned in partnership with the German Arctic Office. The policy paper is a scientific publication, the opinions expressed in the paper are the author's own and do not reflect the view of the German Arctic Office.

Arctic Frontiers is an international arena on sustainable development in the Arctic. The conference addresses the management of opportunities and challenges to achieve viable economic growth with societal and environmental sustainability. Arctic Frontiers brings academia, government and business together to create a firmer foundation for decision-making and sustainable economic development in the Arctic.

The Arctic Circle Assembly, the largest annual international gathering on the Arctic, took place in Reykjavik (Iceland) on 13-15 October 2017. The German Arctic Office participated in the Assembly and contributed to a number of events and sessions.

Telegrafenberg A43
14473 Potsdam
Germany

info(at)arctic-office.de
+49 (0)331 2882214

Informations- und Kooperationsbüro für die Arktis

Das Deutsche Arktisbüro am Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung fungiert als Informations- und Kooperationsplattform für deutsche Arktis-Akteure aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft. Es fördert die Sichtbarkeit des deutschen Engagement in der Arktis auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Das Deutsche Arktisbüro: fungiert als einheitlicher Ansprechpartner für Bundesministerien, Behörden etc. und Anlaufstelle für deutsche Wirtschaft; berät die Bundesregierung durch wissenschaftliche Begleitung von Positionen zu Arktisfragen, und; stärkt die deutsche Beteiligung an den wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten des Arktischen Rats.

Das Deutsche Arktisbüro: liefert Impulse für die Wissenschaft durch Vermittlung politik-relevanter Fragen an die entsprechenden wissenschaftlichen Institutionen, und; vermittelt konsistent aufbereitete Informationen aus der Forschung für Nutzer aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft.

Das Deutsche Arktisbüro: initiiert eigene nationale Arktisveranstaltungen mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft, und; unterstützt die Bundesregierung bei der Vorstellung der deutschen Arktisforschung und –politik bei internationalen Konferenzen.

Arktisstrategien 2017

"Arktisstrategien 2017" bietet einen Überblick und eine Einführung in die politischen Arktisstrategien der Mitglieds- und Beobachterstaaten des Arktischen Rats. Es wurde im Auftrag und in Partnerschaft mit dem Deutschen Arktisbüro erstellt. Das Policy Paper versteht sich als wissenschaftliche Publikation und stellt keine Meinungsäußerung des Arktisbüros dar.

Das Deutsche Arktisbüro bei der 2017 Arctic Circle Assembly

Die Arctic Circle Assembly, das grösste jährliche Treffen der Arktis-Gemeinde, fand vom 13. bis 15. Oktober 2017 in Reykjavik, Island statt. Das Deutsche Arktisbüro hat an der Konferenz teilgenommen und zum Programm beigetragen.

A Responsible Future for the Arctic

Die Norwegische Botschaft in Berlin, organisiert in Kooperation mit Arctic Frontiers und dem Deutschen Arktisbüro am Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar-und Meeresforschung, ein Seminar zu "A Responsible Future for the Arctic: Political, scientific and business perspectives".

15. November 2017
09.00 - 14.00 Uhr

Nordische Botschaften
Rauchstraße 1
10787 Berlin

Telegrafenberg A43
14473 Potsdam
Germany

info(at)arctic-office.de
+49(0)331 2882214